A Call for Caulbearers

For those not yet versed in the physiologic and cosmic possibilities of childbirth, I’d like to introduce you to birth in the caul. I’ve recently come across a video of a Mama having a water birth—which is a method of birth during which the awesome parturient Mama is partially submerged in lovely warm water and  the new little soul being born slides from her first watery home into another wet environment.  The baby, still getting oxygen from the Mama via the placenta and umbilical cord, does not take it’s first breath until out of the tub when she is stimulated by the air.  This video is extraordinary because it shows both a water birth and a birth in the caul!

The amazing image that you see here, which looks like a pearly gem emerging, is actually the baby’s amniotic sac bulging out.  The bag of waters or caul is the valise that the little bean lives in during the average 40 weeks of gestation.  Most often the membranes rupture during the labor process (think: “My water just broke!”) or is artificially ruptured by a Midwife or Obstetrician prior to birth.  There is no harm in leaving the amniotic sac whole, however, and many peoples all over the world believe that when left intact the caul and the baby which bears it have magical qualities.

Legend holds that caulbearers carry good luck and protection from death by drowning, making them considerably valuable folks among seafarers. The Scots, too, believe the child will be fey, or psychic. And from the ancient Egyptians we learn that the newborn baby is destined for the cult of Isis, a mystically inclined fate.

Notice first of all how relaxed this amazing Lady is while pushing her baby out.  You can see that the sac bulges and contracts with pushing efforts and relaxation respectively and that the head is born with the caul intact.  The Midwife then breaks the membranes and catches the little one.

Just think how cushioned both Baby and Mama are during this process of birth in the caul.

Psychic abilities?!  No perineal tears?!  No cephalohematomas?! Three cheers for CAULBEARERS!! (As well as the amazing Women who push them out and the Midwives and OB docs who have the patience and respect to leave the process be).

7 Comments

Filed under Nile Nash

7 responses to “A Call for Caulbearers

  1. This is amazing. Thanks for posting.

  2. Diana

    I was born with a caul. My brother was born on Feb. 5.

  3. kim jonsson

    Any of you born with a call truly psychic? If so, how old were you when it was recognized in you? Do you hear voices? see visions… I would love to know more. 🙂

  4. Pentacular

    Hi, I’m trying to find a young woman called Diana who was born with a caul. Diana, if you are still around, you might drop me a line via the contact page at http://www.caulbearer.org

    Regards,
    Sean Ryan

  5. werewolves88

    Dont really know how to start or when to start but anyway here it goes,any1 know a legend about people who born with caul and they have those six sense or could see the other side of the world n etc.Well the thing is i wasnt born that way i was born with full sac covering me which the nurse say she never saw any baby in her entire life of working as a nurse being born like i was n then she say im different n etc but anyway the weird thing is my mom ask her to keep the sac cos she want to bring it back n show me how it look like when im older but here the odd thing happen my mom dont see her anymore after that day cos my mom wanted to ask her where is my sac n no1 know where she is so i dont even know how my sac look like.But anyway my parents always told me im different n born in different way n etc cos even when i was lil or still a toodler my parents already see weird stuff i do when i was a baby n my dad did get freak out really big time before n he says it impossible for me to do it but it did happen,he says it lucky no1 see what i have done(im only saying the few big major stuff that happen around me here but its not all of them cos i only mention few since the rest i will keep it to myself).Well when i was growing up i always are a loner i dont have much friends cos i know they will betray me n i just couldnt fit me with them cos i always know im different from them n i keep try to be friends with different sort of people but by the end of the day i always know i couldnt fit in cos im different n i know when some1 lie to me cos i could see it in their face n i always can sense that something wrong with them.So what makes me more weird is that when i was lil i use to laugh,cry,talk n even walk in my sleep n sometimes i dont even know what im saying but lucky i stop sleep walking but it didnt just stop anything else cos then when im start to growing up i could sense things and see things only very rare n i would know if something bad or good will happen just that im not sure when it going to happen,i remember when i was alone at home 1 night cos my parents n sister are away and i could hear foot step outside my bedroom door cos i always lock my door when im asleep but i wasnt asleep at that time cos i was watching tv inside my room n i open my door n look all over the house but there was nothing in the house just me alone so i just went straight to bed n i hear the foot steps again but i just ignore it till when i was half asleep i feel something touching my leg n i was a bit freak out at that time n its start pulling me off the bed n im to scared to open my eyes so i just keep kicking what ever the thing that keep on pulling me off the bed n i struggle quiet alot with it for few minutes n then the grip gone i open my eyes n see nothing at all in the room,i couldnt fall asleep anymore after that but thats the worse ever happen cos i know i can sense things but it never actually make a contact n it happen again but this time i was walking in town with my family till something grab my wristn have a strong grip to it n it really hurt my wrist i cant even see the things that do that to my wrist i could feel it have a long finger nail it feel like it digging its nail to my skin, it hurts alot n all i could do at that time is just grab my wrist as hard as i could n wishing who ever or what ever that hold my wrist will stop n it did but the pain last till 1 month.
    Anyway things just gone more weirder when everytime i dream sometime it come true n sometimes either the things already happen or about to happen i dont know why,sometimes i dream seeing myself in different time n in different situation i know it was me although i look different,sometimes i could hear myself talking weird language i dont even understand n i keep seeing myself either die or in a coffin but theres always 1 guy that always be with me i dont know who he is but everytime i dream about those thing he always there either like a guardian i even saw him putting rose infront of my grave or even inside my coffin and even when i was alive in my dream he was always there.never know who he is,though sometimes i wish i know him,but it get more weird when i know my dad was in a car crash cos i dream about it in my sleep where i see lots or blood n my dad was out of the car injured i was shock n then i was awake but then my mom ring n say my dad in car crash n i told her i know about it n i went to visit her,she say how do i know i told her it happen in my dreams n i saw something in her face that makes me hurt cos i though she knows me cos im her daughter cos she is the 1 who always knows those weird things about me but now she is the 1 who look scared,i feel like im a monster.when the dream happen again after few month this time my dad was in coma n it already happen 2 days before i have that dream n i ring my mom n she say its true something happen to your dad n i told her why she didnt tell me she say she dont want me to be upsad again well i was really upsad at her.Then i move far away n i meet this lady who want to be my friend but i get an image like flash back from her when i saw her n i know she have tattoo in middle of her back even before i know her she never know about it cos i keep it to myself yes i have few flash back/deja vu too n i dont like it cos it give me headache.sometimes i just knew some1 even before i know them.
    sometimes when im out somewhere i sometimes tend to know some1 who is a stranger and i feel like i have know them before but i dont know who they are i dont know why i dont even know if its like those past life sorta thing..i dont know who i am anymore or what i am anymore i just hope some1 will have an answer for that cos i really want an answer cos basically they say only people who born with caul are special n have gifted power n have great powers being put on their fate,so i dont born in that way then what am i some kind of moster or demon or a devil?any1 please help me…

  6. Hi there,

    I just wanted to make a correction for the sake of clarity. While this birthing was beautiful, it is not an authentic caul birth. Births inside of the entire sac is referred to as an ‘en caul’ birth. A ‘caul’ birth is when a portion of the amniotic sac is attached to the newborn’s head and face, and must be carefully removed by the doctor or midwife.

    For more detailed information on the caul and caulbearers, please visit caulbearers.org.

    Thank you,
    Shannon Lee Wolf

  7. werewolves88

    Ok..thanks it doesnt really matter anymore anyway..so what if im not born like true caulbearer does..i only hear it from my parents i dont even know if they describe it right anyway cos i dont remember any of those anyway since i dont even know how i even look like when my mom give birth to me..thanks for replying back anyway..dont know why people dont say much about en caul birth arent they born with with those ambiotic sac just they still in it rather then it broke and stuck at their head and etc?so what make them more different from each other?just cos 1 birth might have more potential of being more special and gifted doesnt mean the other 1s not?how would anyone know if no one even willing to do research on en caul birth does anyone even know what those type of kids can do?how would any one know if they are not more special then those who are born with the sac stuff still in contact with their bodies arent baby always have stuff stuck on their body part when they were born?im sorry if i sound harsh,cos im just wondering why people talks alot about this caulbearer when no one even talks about en caul i bet somewhere out there…there will be some story about those type of birth.Why are they not special?just cos its normal for baby born in full sac for all i know not alot of babies born that way unless they c section and etc..how many would be born with the sac still covering them in natural birth without anything to help them and no even pre mature birth or c section birth.so i dont really get it im sorry.

Leave a Reply

